MVC Announces Women's Swimming & Diving 25-Year Team

MVC Announces Women's Swimming & Diving 25-Year Team

Swimming & Diving 25-Year Team (PDF)

ST. LOUIS - The 2017-18 season is a landmark one for the Missouri Valley Conference and for women’s sports.  To help celebrate the 45th anniversary of Title IX and the 25th anniversary of women’s sports, the Valley is naming 25-Year Anniversary Teams for each of the Valley’s sponsored women’s sports.  

Team composition for each sport has been determined by a 25-person committee (two representatives from each MVC institution and a panel of five voters from the Conference office).  The team composition includes years in which league teams competed under the MVC umbrella during the past 25 years (1992-2017) and does not include competition from the current season.

The Missouri Valley Conference was founded in 1907 and is the nation’s second oldest Division I athletics conference.   Women’s sports were incorporated into the MVC in 1992, having previously competed under the Gateway Conference banner from 1982-92.   In August 2017, the Conference announced its 2018 Hall of Fame Class, which featured three women (in the six-person class).  A total of 22 women’s athletes, coaches and pioneers have been honored by the MVC as part of the Hall.

The voting panel determined a ‘Top 10’ from a list of 25 finalists.   Those top 10 honorees are listed below, and the top vote-getter is denoted.

Swimming & Diving (sponsorship from 1992-present): Eight different programs (including affiliate members) have sponsored swimming and diving in the Missouri Valley Conference during the past 25 years, including; Bradley (1994-2002); Evansville (1994-present); Illinois State (1992-present); Indiana State (2016-present); Missouri State (1998-present); Northern Iowa (1992-present); Southern Illinois (1992-present); and affiliate Arkansas-Little Rock (2013-present). Valparaiso also competes in swimming & diving. Valpo joined the Conference for the 2017-18 season.
Missouri Valley Conference Women's Swimming & Diving 25-Year Team
Name School Years Notable Honors
Kim Dodson Evansville 1999-01 3-time all-MVC; 2-time Swimmer of the Year; 7-time MVC champ; qualified for NCAA
Krystal Featherston Illinois State 2002-05 4-time all-MVC; 6-time MVC Champ; 3-time Diver of the Year
Wenting Zhang Illinois State 2012-15 4-time all-MVC; 3-time MVC Champ; 2-time Diver of the Year; 2-time All-American
Dora Kiss Missouri State 2013-16 4-time all MVC; 2-time Swimmer of the Year; 500-yrd freestyle & 200-yrd buttefly record; 10-time MVC Champ
Renata Sander  Missouri State 2011-14 4-time all-MVC; 8-time MVC Champ; 3-time Swimmer of the Year
Lauren Pavel Missouri State 2014-17 4-time all-MVC; 100-yrd breaststroke, 200-yrd breaststroke, & 200-yrd indiv. Medley records; 6-time MVC Champ; 2-time Swimmer of Year
Emily Gable Southern Illinois 2007-10 4-time all-MVC; 2-time MVC Champ; 2-time Diver of the Year
Kirsten Groome Southern Illinois 2009-13 3-time all-MVC; 1,000 yard & 1,650 yard freestyle records; 6-time MVC Champ; Swimmer of Year 
Julie Ju  Southern Illinois 2006-08 3-time all-MVC; 8-time MVC Champ; 3-time Swimmer of Year
*Sherry Zhang Southern Illinois 2013-15 4-time all-MVC; 3-time Diver of the Year, 3-meter dive record, 1-meter dive record; 7-time MVC Champ
*denotes No. 1 choice in balloting

Related News